No matching entry. Try fewer words or use the official source for a broader search.
Recognition aid, not a prescription translator. Confirm the complete directions and clarify ambiguous instructions before making a patient label.
BID
TID
QID
PRN
As needed
The indication and supported interval or maximum must come from the full directions.
Pharmacy education referencePO
AC
PC
QAM
QPM
QHS
Q4H
Q6H
Q8H
QD / Q.D.
QOD / Q.O.D.
U / u / IU
OD
Right eye or once daily
Ambiguous across contexts. Clarify rather than selecting a meaning automatically.
ISMP safety referenceOS / OU
Left eye / each eye
Write the eye explicitly; eye and ear abbreviations can be confused.
ISMP safety referenceAD / AS / AU
SC / SQ / sub q
D/C
.5 / 5.0
Decimal notation
Write 0.5 for a fraction; avoid a trailing zero in a medication dose.
ISMP safety referenceAAA
Apply to affected area
Route or site only; the complete prescription still supplies dose and frequency.
UConn pharmacy education · Tables 1–2BUCC
Inside the cheek
Route or site only; the complete prescription still supplies dose and frequency.
UConn pharmacy education · Tables 1–2IM
Into a muscle
Route or site only; the complete prescription still supplies dose and frequency.
UConn pharmacy education · Tables 1–2INH
Inhale / inhalation
Route or site only; the complete prescription still supplies dose and frequency.
UConn pharmacy education · Tables 1–2IV
Into a vein
Route or site only; the complete prescription still supplies dose and frequency.
UConn pharmacy education · Tables 1–2PR
Rectally
Route or site only; the complete prescription still supplies dose and frequency.
UConn pharmacy education · Tables 1–2CAP
Capsule
Names a form or device; does not specify the amount to use.
UConn pharmacy education · Tables 1–2TAB
Tablet
Names a form or device; does not specify the amount to use.
UConn pharmacy education · Tables 1–2GTT
Drop
Names a form or device; does not specify the amount to use.
UConn pharmacy education · Tables 1–2SUSP
Suspension
Names a form or device; does not specify the amount to use.
UConn pharmacy education · Tables 1–2UNG
Ointment
Names a form or device; does not specify the amount to use.
UConn pharmacy education · Tables 1–2NEB
Nebulizer
Names a form or device; does not specify the amount to use.
UConn pharmacy education · Tables 1–2MDI
Metered-dose inhaler
Names a form or device; does not specify the amount to use.
UConn pharmacy education · Tables 1–2A reference you can keep beside the screen
Use your browser’s Print command to save or print this list. Clear the search first for the full reference, or print the filtered entries you need. Keep the caution notes with the meanings.
Read the whole instruction
A recognized abbreviation cannot supply an omitted dose, route, duration, treatment site or as-needed limit. Write clear patient-facing directions after verifying the intended instruction. Keep the original prescription and any clarification available in the pharmacy record.
The MedlinePlus abbreviation appendix is a general recognition reference. The 2024 ISMP list addresses reported medication-communication hazards; it is broader than this selected glossary.